Eleven women’s refuges across the country open

1975 Women's Refuge Watson. Courtesy ACT Heritage Library, Department of Capital Territory Collection

The Whitlam government funded 11 women’s refuges and shelters across the country. Many are known by women’s names, to signify a safe place for women, for example Molly’s House, Beryl’s Women’s Refuge, Joan’s Place, Bonney’s Women’s Refuge. Initially women’s refuges were funded under the Women’s Emergency Services Program. Following a review of the existing crisis accommodation programs, the programs were incorporated into the Supported Accommodation and Assistance Program introduced by the Labor government in 1985-86. (Source: Weeks & Oberin 2004)

Pictured is a refuge set up in Watson, Canberra.

This entry was posted in Violence. Bookmark the permalink.